BOARD MEETINGS

This wishlist comes at the wrong side of the ski season because it’s nearly over but I thought I’d do some snowboard related posts in the lead up to my inevitable withdrawal symptoms after next weekend’s grand finale, (orienteering treasure hunt around Deux Alpes anyone?) Also, for all my ‘standing sideways’ I haven’t really shown much evidence of it on this blog yet.

Board Lust List

1. FORUM SAUCE // 2. FORUM SPINSTER // 3. DUPRAZ D1 5’2″ STD PRESTIGE // 4. YES BASIC // 5. BATALEON FEELBETTER 11/12 // 6. BURTON FEATHER

I took my sweet time choosing my board in November because there are a ridiculous amount of technical aspects to consider e.g. type of rocker (shape of the board), what the board is best for – park, powder, all mountain etc. I wanted to find the perfect beginner – intermediate board to help me improve quickly so I eventually went for a Burton Feather Wide, which is number 6 in the photo but mine has a turquoise to purple fade instead of yellow to orange. (I wanted the yellow one okay?!) I admit that my lust list might be a little unrealistic because when I was mentally making it back in November some of these boards were out of my ability range, but to be perfectly honest they’re all mainly in this post because I think they just look so damn awesome. I entirely understand the emphasis on buying a board for how it rides over how it looks but let’s face it I was never going to spend hundreds of pounds on something that makes me want to gauge my eyes out. As an art student a little piece of me dies inside when I see the prices on some really ugly snowboards.

Also this week I found Boarding For Breast Cancer through twitter. They sound like a really great cause, providing education about and supporting young women and those affected by breast cancer, encouraging active, healthy lifestyle changes, and ultimately celebrating life both on and off a board. Gutted I only found them with only one more day of boarding to go, but I’m definitely going to get involved in some fundraising for them next year! So fellow snowboarders, what have you been riding this season?

Leave a Reply

