THE UNSPEAKABLE SERIES

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Silence

More work from my Volume – Installation module. Still more than a bit obsessed with communication, translation, deception and the like (probably from the whole moving country/language barrier thing) but this time I decided to make something which would reflect these themes in an almost aggressive way.

I wanted to write in a language that lent itself well to being three-dimensional, and because the idea of braille is to read by touch it certainly fit the bill. The content of these works plays well with braille to ‘confuse’ the senses because they reference things like silence, talking, hurtful words, but obviously braille lacks the usual spoken element of ‘languages’. Also, because of the materials I have chosen to use, the works aren’t physically accessible in the way braille would normally be.

It has become quite an evasive series in all it’s anonymity, but I feel a personal, visual interpretation of these pieces, even without knowledge of braille, could be more valid than if someone necessarily could understand the words here. It’s a shame I couldn’t bring these back to France with me to exhibit, especially after I’d started to have some fun with the lighting, but god knows what airport security would have thought if I was carrying so many nails in my hand luggage! However, it’s my intention to make a large scale version of one, which is essentially a bed of nails. Not sure if I’ll let people attempt to lie down on it yet though… I don’t really want to make the headlines with something like ‘ENGLISH GIRL KILLS TUTOR WITH ARTWORK.’

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To Hurt You

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To Hurt You

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To Hurt You (Detail)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sticks and Stones

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sticks and Stones

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sticks and Stones

Leave a Reply

